LEAD Hampton Roads makes award announcements

LEAD Hampton Roads makes award announcements

    LEAD Hampton Roads held their alumni breakfast on March 22. The morning event included an economic and revenue update and featured Aubrey Layne, Virginia’s secretary of finance.

    LEAD Hampton Roads is now in its 30th year and has more than 1,300 graduates of their leadership programs. LEAD holds the honor of bestowing visionary awards on deserving members of the Commonwealth. These awards honor individuals from Hampton Roads who have demonstrated exceptional regional leadership and in the breaking news of the morning, Layne teamed up with former delegate and city of Norfolk treasurer, Daun Hester. Layne and Hester are both graduates of the first LEAD Hampton Roads class and were at home amongst their LEAD alumni. Hester announced the ICON award. This award is given to a Hampton Roads citizen under 30 who shows exceptional leadership and representation to the community. They announced the honor was given to Delegate Jay Jones. Jones filled Hester’s vacant delegate seat.

    Hester announced that Jennifer Boykin, executive vice president of Huntington Ingalls and president of Newport News Shipbuilding was awarded the Julian Hirst Alumni Leadership for outstanding alumni.

    Layne announced that Virginia’s Governor Ralph Northam was honored as First Citizen. All of these award will officially be presented to the honorees at the Hampton Roads BRAVO gala which honors Hampton Road’s top regional leadership. The gala will be held on May 31, 2018 at the Waterside Marriott.


Latest News
October 15, 2019 - Hampton Roads Economic Development Alliance
October 14, 2019 - Emily Cass
Youtube Icon
Linkedin Icon
Instagram Icon